Asdrubal safe as replay shows missed tag
Tribe scores three runs in inning after ruling on the field was overturned
CLEVELAND -- The Tribe broke out for three runs after an out call at second was overturned by replay review in Friday's 7-4 win over the White Sox at Progressive Field.
With two outs in the fifth inning, Asdrubal Cabrera tried to steal second, but the initial ruling held that he had been caught stealing. Upon Cabrera's insistence that shortstop Alexei Ramirez missed the tag as he slid, Indians skipper Terry Francona trotted out onto the field and used his manager's challenge.
"You know to go out," Francona said. "There's no reason not to. You just kind of give it time and let them look at the replays."
After review, the call was overturned and Cabrera was awarded his seventh stolen base of the season. The Indians took full advantage of the ruling, as Lonnie Chisenhall singled home Cabrera and Nick Swisher hit a two-run homer in the following at-bat to give Cleveland a 6-4 advantage.
The game's outcome likely would have looked far different without the review.
"Obviously you like it, especially when it helps you, but I do think it's in place for the right reasons," said Francona, who improved to 10 of 20 on manager's challenges this season.
Alec Shirkey is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.