To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

Official Info

Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

05/10/2007 2:19 PM ET
Indians to honor Larry Doby
Entire team to wear his retired No. 14 on Aug. 10
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page
CLEVELAND -- The Cleveland Indians today announced the club has received permission from Major League Baseball to honor Hall of Fame outfielder LARRY DOBY by having the entire team wear his retired #14 in a game vs. the New York Yankees on Friday, Aug. 10 at Jacobs Field.

Doby became the first African-American player in American League history almost 60 years ago in 1947. Doby was a standout player for the Negro League Newark (NJ) Eagles prior to being signed by then Indians owner Bill Veeck on July 3, 1947. He made his Major League and Cleveland Indians debut 2 days later in Chicago. Doby was an anchor on the 1948 Indians World Championship team and went on to lead the American League in home runs in 1952 (32) and 1954 (32). His #14 was retired by the Indians in July of 1994 and he was elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame in 1998. He passed away at the age of 79 in June of 2003.

Larry Doby, JR will throw out the ceremonial first pitch prior to the game. Each jersey worn that evening by Indians players and coaches will be signed and auctioned off by Cleveland Indians Charities to benefit the Larry Doby RBI Program and the Larry Doby Cleveland State University Baseball Scholarship Fund. Both programs were established in Larry's honor in 1994 when the Indians retired his number. There will also be a video tribute to Larry Doby on the Jacobs Field scoreboard prior to the game.

The Larry Doby #14 tribute is one many highlights to Hall of Fame/Heritage weekend, August 10-12 vs. the New York Yankees. Prior to the game of Saturday, August 11 four more members will be added to the Indians Hall of Fame: ANDRE THORNTON, CHARLES NAGY, JIM BAGBY SR. and MIKE GARCIA.

print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page