© 2011 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

11/22/11 5:36 PM EST

Cabrera, Masterson, Tomlin take home awards

Trio stand out on Indians' young and surprising 2011 squad

The Indians' run at the American League Central came as a surprise. The major award winner they had at the end of it shouldn't have.

Though the Indians used strong pitching and a deep bullpen to thrive in the division for better than half the season, their offense relied heavily on shortstop Asdrubal Cabrera as part table-setter, part run producer. He either scored or drove in nearly 22 percent of Cleveland's runs for the season.

Add in elite defense, and Cabrera was a logical choice for the starting shortstop on The Sporting News American League All-Star team, as voted on by Major League players near season's end. He was a somewhat surprising omission from the AL Gold Glove awards, but captured the first Silver Slugger award ever by an Indians shortstop.

It was a major haul for a 25-year-old shortstop who enjoyed a breakout season in his first year with more than 131 games played. Cabrera had hit just three home runs in 2010, and 18 homers over the first four seasons of his Major League career combined. His 22-homer jump was the second-largest from one year to the next in franchise history, trailing only Ed Morgan's 23-homer leap from 1929 to 1930. It was also a record for Venezuelan shortstops.

Team Awards 2011

For all those reasons, he was an obvious choice for Player of the Year as part of the Indians' MLB.com awards. As selected by MLB.com, awards have been designated in three categories -- Pitcher, Perfomer and Breakout Player -- for each of the 30 teams.

Just as Cabrera was an easy choice, All-Star hurler Justin Masterson was similarly an easy pick for Indians Pitcher of the Year. With a 12-10 record and 3.21 ERA, he tied for the team lead in wins, topped all other starters in ERA by more than a full run, innings by nearly 30, and strikeouts by nearly 50. It was the best season by an Indians starter since Cliff Lee's Cy Young campaign in 2008.

Josh Tomlin's 12-win campaign not only put him alongside Masterson for the team lead, it earned him Indians Breakout Player of the Year honors. With his combination of control and efficiency, the 27-year-old posted the lowest ratio of walks per nine innings among AL starters, and the fourth-best strikeout-to-walk ratio in the league. All but three of his 26 starts featured one walk or less before right elbow inflammation ended his season in late August.

Rounding out the awards season, Cabrera finished 20th in AL MVP balloting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America. Indians manager Manny Acta finished fourth in voting for the AL's Manager of the Year.

National Awards
MVP Cy Young ROY
George Burns 1926 Gaylord Perry 1972 Herb Score 1955
Lou Boudreau 1948 CC Sabathia 2007 Chris Chambliss 1971
Al Rosen 1953 Cliff Lee 2008 Joe Charboneau 1980
Sandy Alomar Jr. 1990
Joey Gerut 2003
Manager of Year Rawlings Gold Glove Silver Slugger
Mike Hargrove 1995 Vic Power 1960 Andre Thornton 1984
Eric Wedge 2007 Jimmy Piersall 1961 Julio Franco 1988
Larry Dierker 1998 Vic Power 1961 Carlos Baerga 1993
Vic Davalillo 1964 Albert Belle 1994
Ray Fosse 1970 Carlos Baerga 1994
Ray Fosse 1971 Manny Ramirez 1995
Rick Manning 1976 Albert Belle 1995
Sandy Alomar 1990 Jim Thome 1996
Kenny Lofton 1993 Albert Belle 1996
Omar Vizquel 1994 David Justice 1997
Kenny Lofton 1994 Matt Williams 1997
Omar Vizquel 1995 Manny Ramirez 1999
Kenny Lofton 1995 Roberto Alomar 1999
Omar Vizquel 1996 Manny Ramirez 2000
Kenny Lofton 1996 Roberto Alomar 2000
Matt Williams 1997 Juan Gonzalez 2001
Omar Vizquel 1997 Victor Martinez 2004
Omar Vizquel 1998 Grady Sizemore 2008
Omar Vizquel 1999 Asdrubal Cabrera 2011
Roberto Alomar 1999
Travis Fryman 2000
Omar Vizquel 2000
Roberto Alomar 2000
Omar Vizquel 2001
Roberto Alomar 2001
Grady Sizemore 2007
Grady Sizemore 2008
Roberto Clemente Award
Andre Thornton 1979
Jim Thome 2002
Local Awards
Man of the Year Good Guy Award
Bill Veeck1946Alvin Dark1968
Lou Boudreau1947Lou Klimchock1969
Gene Bearden1948Larry Brown1970
Bob Lemon1949Hank Peters1971
Larry Doby1950Dino Lucarelli1972
Bob Feller1951Bob Gill1973
Mike Garcia, Bob Lemon, Early Wynn1952Harold Bossard, Marshall Bossard1974
Al Rosen1953Boog Powell1975
Bobby Avila1954Jim Warfield1976
Al Smith1955Cy Buynak1977
Vic Wertz1956Duane Kiper1978
Gene Woodling1957Sid Monge1979
Rocky Colavito1958Rick Manning1980
Tito Francona1959Mike Seghi1981
Jim Perry1960Dennis Sommers1982
Mel Harder1961Don McMahon1983
Dick Donovan1962Andre Thornton1984
Max Alvis1963Mike Hargrove1985
Don McMahon1964Johnny Goryl1986
Rocky Colavito1965Andre Thornton1987
Sonny Siebert1966Doc Edwards1988
Max Alvis1967Tom Candiotti, Bud Black1989
Luis Tiant1968Brook Jacoby1990
Sam McDowell1969Mike Hargrove1991
Ray Fosse, Sam McDowell1970Felix Fermin1992
Graig Nettles1971Cy Buynak1993
Gaylord Perry1972No award1994
Buddy Bell1973Jim Thome1995
Gaylord Perry, Jim Perry1974Omar Vizquel1996
Dave LaRoche1975Orel Hershiser1997
Rico Carty1976Luis Isaac1998
Duane Kiper1977Dave Burba1999
Andre Thornton1978Sandy Alomar Jr.2000
Dave Garcia1979Charles Nagy2001
Mike Hargrove1980Joel Skinner2002
Mike Hargrove1981Ellis Burks2003
Andrew Thornton, Toby Harrah1982Casey Blake2004
Rick Sutcliffe1983Aaron Boone2005
Bert Blyleven1984Paul Byrd2006
Brett Butler1985Mark Shapiro2007
Joe Carter1986Luis Isaac2008
Brook Jacoby1987Jamey Carroll2009
Doug Jones1988Manny Acta2010
Jerry Browne1989Chris Perez2011
Doug Jones1990
Carlos Baerga1991
Carlos Baerga1992
Albert Belle1993
No award1994
Jose Mesa1995
Albert Belle1996
Sandy Alomar Jr.1997
Manny Ramirez1998
Roberto Alomar, Manny Ramirez1999
Travis Fryman2000
Roberto Alomar2001
Jim Thome2002
Jody Gerut2003
Victor Martinez2004
Travis Hafner2005
Grady Sizemore2006
CC Sabathia2007
Cliff Lee2008
Shin-Soo Choo2009
Shin-Soo Choo2010
Asdrubal Cabrera2011

Jason Beck is a reporter for MLB.com. Read Beck's Blog and follow him on Twitter @beckjason. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.