© 2013 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

10/7/2013 1:56 P.M. ET

Jason Kipnis named finalist for 2013 Hank Aaron Award

Fans Can Vote at MLB.com; Award Recognizes Most Outstanding Offensive Performers in Each League

Major League Baseball and MLB Advanced Media announced that fans can vote for the 2013 Hank Aaron Award exclusively online at MLB.com and the 30 Club sites. For the fourth straight year, a special panel of Hall of Fame players led by Hank Aaron will join fans in voting for the award, which is officially sanctioned by Major League Baseball and has recognized the most outstanding offensive performer in each League since it was established in 1999.

The finalists for the 2013 Hank Aaron Award are:

American League

  • Baltimore Orioles - Chris Davis
  • Boston Red Sox - David Ortiz
  • Chicago White Sox - Alexei Ramirez
  • Cleveland Indians - Jason Kipnis
  • Detroit Tigers - Miguel Cabrera
  • Houston Astros - Jason Castro
  • Kansas City Royals - Eric Hosmer
  • LA Angels of Anaheim - Mike Trout
  • Minnesota Twins - Joe Mauer
  • New York Yankees - Robinson Cano
  • Oakland Athletics - Josh Donaldson
  • Seattle Mariners - Kendrys Morales
  • Tampa Bay Rays - Evan Longoria
  • Texas Rangers - Adrian Beltre
  • Toronto Blue Jays - Edwin Encarnacion

National League

  • Arizona Diamondbacks - Paul Goldschmidt
  • Atlanta Braves - Freddie Freeman
  • Chicago Cubs - Nate Schierholtz
  • Cincinnati Reds - Jay Bruce
  • Colorado Rockies - Michael Cuddyer
  • Los Angeles Dodgers - Hanley Ramirez
  • Miami Marlins - Giancarlo Stanton
  • Milwaukee Brewers - Carlos Gomez
  • New York Mets - David Wright
  • Philadelphia Phillies - Domonic Brown
  • Pittsburgh Pirates - Andrew McCutchen
  • St. Louis Cardinals - Matt Carpenter
  • San Diego Padres - Will Venable
  • San Francisco Giants - Hunter Pence
  • Washington Nationals - Jayson Werth

The Hall of Fame panel led by Aaron includes some of the greatest offensive players of all-time - Roberto Alomar, Johnny Bench, Tony Gwynn, Paul Molitor, Eddie Murray and Robin Yount. These Hall of Famers - who combined for 17,629 hits, 8,278 RBI and 1,723 home runs - have all been personally selected by Hank Aaron to lend their expertise to select the best offensive performer in each League. 

Continuing through October 10, fans will have the opportunity to select one American League and one National League winner from a list comprising of one finalist per Club. The winners of the 2013 Hank Aaron Award will be announced during the 2013 World Series.

"All 30 Club nominees should feel honored to be considered for an award named for one of our game's legends, Hank Aaron," said Baseball Commissioner Allan H. (Bud) Selig. "Hank was a brilliant all-around player who demonstrated great power, selectivity and baserunning in his Hall of Fame career. Our game today is fortunate to have so many dynamic players emulating the remarkable example of Hank Aaron."

"It is a great honor that Major League Baseball recognizes the most outstanding offensive performer in each League with an award in my name," said Hank Aaron. "The game is full of so many talented players today that I am thankful my fellow Hall of Famers and the fans assist in selecting the much deserving winners."

Past winners of the Hank Aaron Award include: Miguel Cabrera and Buster Posey (2012), Jose Bautista and Matt Kemp (2011), Bautista and Joey Votto (2010); Derek Jeter and Albert Pujols (2009); Aramis Ramirez and Kevin Youkilis (2008); Alex Rodriguez and Prince Fielder (2007); Jeter and Ryan Howard (2006); David Ortiz and Andruw Jones (2005); Manny Ramirez and Barry Bonds (2004); Rodriguez and Pujols (2003); Rodriguez and Bonds (2001-02); Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton (2000) and Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa (1999).

The Hank Aaron Award was introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th Anniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruth's all-time home run record, and, at that time, was the first major award introduced by Major League Baseball in more than 25 years.

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.