© 2014 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

1/21/2014 7:12 A.M. ET

Cleveland Indians legendary former shortstop Omar Vizquel to be inducted into Indians Hall of Fame

Fan favorite, 11-time Gold Glove-winning shortstop will be inducted on June 21 at Progressive Field -- Longtime TV broadcaster Jimmy Dudley to posthumously join Indians Distinguished Hall of Fame for non-uniformed personnel

Cleveland -- Omar Vizquel, one of the best shortstops in Cleveland Indians and Major League Baseball history and a member of the Tribe's 1995 and 1997 World Series teams, will be inducted into the Indians Hall of Fame on Saturday, June 21.

Vizquel is scheduled to appear briefly at Tribe Fest this weekend; he will be available to media on Sunday, tentatively at 11:30AM. Longtime Indians TV broadcaster Jimmy Dudley will be inducted posthumously into the Indians Distinguished Hall of Fame for non-uniformed personnel.

Of the 1,700-plus players who have worn a Blues, Bronchos or Indians uniform since 1901, Vizquel is the hall's 40th member. He will be honored in a ceremony before the Indians game against the Detroit Tigers on June 21, and he will be honored with a permanent place in Heritage Park, behind the center field wall at Progressive Field.

"I never thought that I could belong to a prestigious group of players that have given everything to the city of Cleveland in an Indians uniform," Vizquel said. "My priority always was the game and to enjoy it as much as possible. I'm honored by this and to have had the chance to play for the Indians."

"Omar was a transcendent player and one of the best of all time at his position," said Indians Senior Vice President of Public Affairs Bob DiBiasio. "He was a big part of one of our organization's most successful periods, and we're excited for him to join the Indians Hall of Fame."

Vizquel is the current all-time Major League Baseball leader at shortstop in fielding percentage (.985), double plays turned (1,735) and games played at the position (2,709).

He won 11 Rawlings Gold Glove awards (nine consecutive from 1993-2001, and 2005- 2006), and is the oldest shortstop to win the award (at age 38 and again at 39). He also made three American League All-Star teams (1998, 1999, 2002).

Vizquel helped the club win two American League Championships (1995, 1997) and six American League Central Division championships 1995-1999, 2001. In 1999, he boasted a .333 batting average and 112 runs for an Indians team that scored a league-leading 1,009 runs, marking the most productive offensive line-up in Cleveland Indians baseball history.

In November, Vizquel was named the Detroit Tigers first-base coach. He previously served as a co-infield coach for the 2013 season with the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim.

The Cleveland Indians Hall of Fame was established in 1951, and players who spent at least three seasons with the club and have been retired for at least one year are eligible.

Vizquel will be available to media on Sunday, January 26 during Tribe Fest, presented by KeyBank at Progressive Field. He will also join other Indians alumni with Tribe Fest activities on Sunday. For complete event details, visit Indians.com/TribeFest.

Dudley, an Indians TV broadcaster from 1948-1967 on WJW and WERE, is a member of the broadcasters' wing of the National Baseball Hall of Fame. Dudley, a native of Alexandria, Va., played baseball, football and basketball at the University of Virginia. He did play-by-play for the Cubs, and after serving in World War II, joined the Indians during the team's World Series season of 1948.

Dudley also broadcast football for the Cleveland Browns and Baltimore Colts, along with Ohio State. He died in 1989.

Other Distinguished Hall of Fame members include owners Bill Veeck and Dick Jacobs, GM/Super Scout Cy Slapnicka, GM John Hart, athletic trainer Jim Warfield and longtime broadcaster Jack Graney.


CA SANDY ALOMAR- Inducted 2009
2B CARLOS BAERGA- Inducted 2013
P JIM BAGBY, SR.-Inducted 2007
SS LOU BOUDREAU- Inducted 1954
3B BILL BRADLEY- Inducted 1957
SS RAY CHAPMAN- Inducted 2006
OF ROCKY COLAVITO- Inducted 2006
P STAN COVELESKI- Inducted 1966
OF LARRY DOBY- Inducted 1966
P BOB FELLER- Inducted 1957
P WES FERRELL- Inducted 2009
OF ELMER FLICK- Inducted 1963
P MIKE GARCIA- Inducted 2007
MGR/2B JOE GORDON- Inducted 2008
P MEL HARDER- Inducted 1951
MGR/1B MIKE HARGROVE- Inducted 2008
CA JIM HEGAN- Inducted 1966
OF JOE JACKSON- Inducted 1951
P ADDIE JOSS- Inducted 2006
3B KEN KELTNER- Inducted 1951
2B NAP LAJOIE- Inducted 1951
P BOB LEMON- Inducted 1960
OF KENNY LOFTON- Inducted 2010
MGR. AL LOPEZ- Inducted 2006
P SAM McDOWELL- Inducted 2006
P CHARLES NAGY- Inducted 2007
CA STEVE O'NEILL- Inducted 1951
P SATCHEL PAIGE- Inducted 1965
3B AL ROSEN- Inducted 2006
P HERB SCORE- Inducted 2006
SS JOE SEWELL- Inducted 1951
OF TRIS SPEAKER- Inducted 1951
1B/DH ANDRE THORNTON- Inducted 2007
1B HAL TROSKY- Inducted 1951
P EARLY WYNN- Inducted 1972
P CY YOUNG- Inducted 1951

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.