© 2014 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

5/3/2014 8:08 P.M. ET

White Sox lose challenge on HBP call

Tribe's Cabrera stays on first; replay on Carroll's pitch is inconclusive

CLEVELAND -- White Sox manager Robin Ventura lost a challenge of a sixth-inning hit-by-pitch call on Asdrubal Cabrera with two outs during Saturday's game against the Indians at Progressive Field.

With the Indians leading, 2-0, White Sox right-hander Scott Carroll's pitch came inside on Cabrera. Cabrera indicated to home-plate umpire Chris Guccione that the ball grazed his right hand, and he was awarded first base. The ball didn't appear to make contact with Cabrera on initial television replays, and Ventura issued the challenge.

After a brief video review, the original call was ruled to stand as there wasn't enough evidence to overturn.

Carroll got the next batter, Ryan Raburn, to fly out to left fielder Alejandro De Aza, so the call didn't have an impact on the scoreless inning.

Scott Merkin is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Merk's Works, and follow him on Twitter @scottmerkin. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.