© 2014 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

7/25/2014 1:52 A.M. ET

Indians go 1-for-2 in replay challenges vs. Royals

KANSAS CITY -- The Indians won a crucial challenge in the bottom of the 11th inning against the Royals on Thursday night.

With the score knotted at 1, and the winning run represented at second base by Raul Ibanez, Nori Aoki chopped a grounder up the middle to Cleveland shortstop Jose Ramirez.

Ramirez collected it, and attempted to throw out Aoki, but first-base umpire Jordan Baker called Aoki safe, ostensibly placing runners at first and third with two outs.

Tribe manager Terry Francona challenged the play, and replay officials in New York overturned the call, resulting in the third out of the inning keeping the game tied heading into the 12th inning.

Francona couldn't make it 2-for-2 on his second challenge in the 14th inning.

Lorenzo Cain singled in the bottom of the inning, then stole second base, arriving just ahead of catcher Yan Gomes' throw. Francona challenged the safe call, but replay officials in New York confirmed the call, and Cain remained at second with no outs.

Two batters later, Aoki knocked in Cain for the winning run.

Jackson Alexander is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.